Ribblr of the Week - Meet Jenalyn 🏅

Say hello to Jenalyn (@mahalmadeco) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind [Mahalmadeco]

Hi! Happy to have you here, tell us a little about yourself.
I’m Jenalyn and I’m 19. I love all things fashion, cute, silly, and horror. I’m currently studying for a bachelor’s degree in entrepreneurship, and I am the artist behind MahalMadeCo.

MahalMadeCo is something that although I call it my small business, I’ve been starting to see it as less of a small business, and more of a vehicle for me to share my art with the world. “Mahal” translates to love in Tagalog, and it is also my middle name. Since everything I make is made with love, I developed the name “Mahal Made” when I introduced it to the world on my 18th birthday in February of 2022.

When did you start crafting and how?
I genuinely couldn’t tell you when I started crafting! I had always been an art kid growing up, watching so many YouTube tutorials on how to use alcohol markers, watercolors, and polymer clay.

In middle school, of course, art really became a big part of my personality, and I definitely never fully left it behind. During fall of 2020, I eventually found my way to the famous Harry Styles patchwork crochet sweater on Pinterest. Though I was never a huge Harry Styles or One Direction fan, that was the moment I knew I wanted to start crocheting. I rushed to YouTube to find a simple tutorial for that sweater, and ended up following several of them! I purchased a bunch of pastel acrylic yarn from JoAnn, a darning needle, and a starter crochet hook, and got to work!

And how did you start designing?