Ribblr of the Week - Meet Jess 🏅

Say hey to Jess (@eclecticjess) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind Eclectic Jess!

Hey :wave: Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m Jess, aka Eclectic Jess, and I’m convinced that I’m terrible at talking about myself! I’m a crochet artist & pattern designer, mom of 2 feral kids, partner to a pretty cool guy, and I’ve spent the past 2 years delightfully discovering what it really means to be me. (It turns out my personality is about 50% “I can make that.”)

When did you start crafting and how?
I grew up with a very crafty grandma, so it’s hard to remember a time before crafting was a big part of my life. I remember raiding her huge desk for supplies and gluing so much stuff to other stuff! When I was about 5 she taught me to crochet and it’s been my default craft ever since. Who knew some scratchy red yarn and a metal hook would have such a big impact on my life?

And how did you start designing?
I had been “unofficially” designing for myself since high school, when I was on a very tight budget and could barely afford yarn, let alone patterns. I’ve always enjoyed coming up with new designs and I put out a few free patterns after my daughter was born, but at that time I was mostly making for craft show sales. That actually caused a long bout of burnout and I wasn’t able to enjoy crochet for a while.

After I created my Mean Green Carnivorous Plant, I had a lot of people asking for the pattern, and that was when I decided that I was really going to dedicate myself to designing. Having the freedom to crochet on my own terms and being able to follow my creativity really reignited my love of the craft. Being able to share my creations in a way that encourages others to create is an amazing feeling! Mean Green holds a place of honor among my yarn stash as a reminder of where this chapter of my life started.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?