Ribblr of the Week: Meet Jessica 🏅

Say hello to Jessica (@transatlanticcrochet) - our Ribblr of the week and the designer behind Transatlantic Crochet!

Hey! Tell us a little about yourself.
My name is Jessica. I lived in the UK until I was 11, then lived in France until I was 25 and now I live in Iceland. I’m a software engineer and I currently work for a video game company in Reykjavik and run my own party princess business.

When did you start crafting and how?
I’ve been crafting since I could hold a needle. My mother is mostly a quilter and had me sewing from (at least) age 3. I made quilts and clothes as a child but I didn’t get into crochet until my mum taught me how to do it on a camping trip when I was 16. Once I had mastered it, I moved on to crochet cosplays, and that’s basically all I do now.

That’s incredible. And how did you start designing?
After following patterns for years, it was the natural next step for me. I began to understand how patterns worked and started either coming up with original ideas or creating the patterns I felt were missing. I only started making crochet cosplays in 2017 and didn’t think to write down any of my cosplay patterns until covid hit - oops.

Do you have a favourite craft type and if so - why?
I am absolutely besotted with crochet. It’s quick, easy, and simple to undo if you make a mistake (looking at you, knitting). I also like how it starts off small and becomes bigger, unlike sewing where you need the space to cut big pieces out.

What was the longest project you worked on?
So far, the longest project I have worked on is Anna’s ball gown. It took me 18 months to complete. However, I feel like Mirabel’s outfit will be a close contender.

Oh wow! And the shortest one? (excluding frogging!)
Once I forgot a friend’s birthday. I saw him in the morning and I realised, so over my 1 hour lunch break I crocheted him a quick half-double crochet beanie.