Ribblr of the week: meet Julie! šŸ…

Hi Ribblrs! This week we are excited to feature Julie @thecovecony as our Ribblr of the week!

Hi Julie! Please tell us a little about you.
Hi my name is Julie! I recently started designing and selling knit and crochet patterns when Iā€™m not working full time at a middle school. You can find me on instagram @thecoveco.ny for a peek into my designing and making process and sometimes my stream of consciousness :joy:. I love how designing has enabled me to create things specifically for myself and my body type and what I like to wear that you canā€™t find anywhere else! I also do a little bit of embroidery and punch needle/rug tufting so I can branch out my creative endeavors.

When did you start crafting and how?
I started crocheting in the fourth grade, so around 8 years old. My grandma made me this beautiful navy and light blue poncho and I was like ā€œI gotta know how to do that.ā€ When I was a freshman in college I was having a rough time mentally and I decided to teach myself how to knit. It ended up being a great way to handle what I was going through in a healthy way and I never looked back.

Thatā€™s incredible. And how did you start designing?
I started drawing ideas for clothes when I was really young but I never thought of it as designing until I started making what I drew (which wasnā€™t until maybe three years ago). I think the first thing that I actually intentionally designed and made was a knit throw blanket (that is still my favorite blanket to use).

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
Iā€™m always flip flopping on whether itā€™s knit or crochet because they both have pros and cons BUT Iā€™m going to give knitting the slightest edge. Iā€™ll probably have a different answer next time Iā€™m asked lol

Whatā€™s the most recent project youā€™ve worked on?