Ribblr of the Week - Meet Keira 🏅

Say hello to Keira (@lunarcrochett) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind [Lunar Crochet]

Tell us a little about yourself
Hello! I’m Keira, and I’m the owner of my small business Lunar Crochet! I am a (mostly) self taught, left handed crocheter. I run my outside business on Facebook with the help of my family. I sell some of my finished projects and makes, ready or custom made locally. I have been crocheting for 5+ years and started my business back in December of 2022.

When did you start crafting and how?
I’ve always been super crafty my whole life. My mother got me into drawing and painting when I was younger, and that stayed with me for a long time. She ended up getting me a crochet kit for Christmas one year, and that’s how it all started. I immediately picked it up, and started making smaller things to get myself started, then slowly moved to amigurumi.

And how did you start designing?
I started designing back in early 2023, and I was really inspired by @ComplicatedKnots on YouTube. Everything about her work was so inspiring to me, the writing process, and the amazing designs she further produced. I worked my way to designing free small patterns of popular items, for those who may not be able to buy them.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
I mostly love traditional crochet above all, the versatility and flexibility to make anything with a lot of ease is amazing. However, I’ve also had a love for Tunisian Crochet recently. I haven’t had much time to practice Tunisian, but the garments made with the technique are absolutely stunning and beautiful.

What has been the most memorable project you worked on?
I think that my most memorable project was the first granny hexagon cardigan I made. It took me about a week, and it was my first ever clothing piece, and I’m still so happy with how it turned out. It was definitely a milestone for me since I mainly crochet plushies.