Ribblr of the Week: Meet Kelven 🏅

Say hello to Kelven (@kelvencrochets) the designer behind Kelven Crochets, and our Ribblr of the week!

Hey! Tell us a little about yourself.
I’m a 22-year-old medical student, and I crochet on the side to not lose my mind. I love everything related to medicine, psychology, and (partly) computer science. As you can probably tell, none of these require much artistic insight or creativity so I was surprised when I started a craft that needs a lot of that. I still sometimes struggle to come up with a design or to finalize plushies (nobody talks about how frustrating designing a plushie’s face is!) but I try to not put too much pressure on myself and enjoy the process :slight_smile:

When did you start crafting and how?
I started crocheting in January 2021 when my entire family had COVID and I had to isolate for 2 weeks :no_mouth: I found a 3.5mm hook and black yarn and made the ugliest crocheted cat you could possibly imagine (I love her tho)

And how did you start designing?
It happened almost without planning; I made a design I liked (my free Kenny the pumpkin frog pattern) and worked on the pattern. After the release I was like “wait did I really just release a pattern?” and I’ve been designing plushies ever since :slight_smile:

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
My favorite craft type is crocheting plushies. I love having a concept in mind/on paper and seeing it come to life as an amigurumi. However I have been interested in crocheting garments recently :eyes: maybe this will be my next era.

What was the longest project you worked on?
I crocheted the Starboy coat (Howl’s iconic coat from Howl’s moving castle) by @reclamare.ph on Instagram and it took me a good 3 months of working on and off on it :sweat_smile:
My longest amigurumi project was a fluffy bear wearing an intarsia sky jacket; it took me a full week and was definitely the hardest thing I’ve made. You can check it out on my Instagram page!