Ribblr of the Week - Meet Kim 🏅

Say hello to Kim (@kimsthreads) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind [Kims Threads]

Hi! Happy to have you here, tell us a little about yourself.
I’m Kim and I’m from Vancouver, British Columbia. I studied 3D Animation and work as Technical Support for VFX artists in the film industry. I spend a lot of hours on the computer for work so I enjoy unwinding by creating with my hands. Most recently I’ve been making wearable crochet and knit items but I also enjoy sewing, macrame, and weaving, and I document many of the things I make on YouTube and TikTok.

When did you start crafting and how?
I found interest in crochet when I was around 11 years old. After seeing photos of amigurumi online I asked my parents to buy me some hooks and yarn and did my best to follow some amigurumi blogs! I didn’t finish everything I started but I really enjoyed the process.

And how did you start designing?
My dog, Stella, has Alopecia and often likes to be under blankets so I wanted to make her some clothing to help keep her warm.

I crocheted and knit a few jackets custom sized for her. I’d say this is when I first started designing as I was thinking how they would best fit her, ease of wear, and making things to measurements instead of doing things on the fly.

After making clothes for my dog, I was really inspired to start creating and designing clothes for myself.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?

I like to explore different fiber arts but crochet is one I’ve always returned to. I really like how flexible it can be.

What has been the most memorable project you worked on?

I crocheted Howl’s Moving Castle as a balaclava. It’s always been one of my favorite movies and since the first time I watched it, I thought the castle looked like a helmet so I wanted to try crocheting it for a Halloween costume. This was most memorable to me because I found it so challenging.