Ribblr of the Week: Meet Lily ๐Ÿ…

Say hello to our Ribblr of the Week: Lily! (aka @CrochetCutiesbyLily)

Hey! :wave: Tell us a little about yourself.
My name is Lily of Crochet Cuties by Lily! I am 25 years old and I am from Honolulu, Hawaii. I have been crocheting for almost 9 years and I have been running Crochet Cuties for a little over 2 years. Aside from crocheting, I am also a graduate student studying Urban and Regional Planning and I work part time as an assistant transportation planner. When I am not crocheting, I love hiking, going to the beach, eating a lot of snacks, and spending time with my friends and pets.

When did you start crafting and how?
I have been crafting for as long as I can remember! When I was a kid, I used to keep myself entertained by cutting up socks to make myself dolls and toys. This desire to make things evolved into crocheting when I was in high school. I remember crochet bikinis were really starting to trend, but I didnโ€™t have the money to justify buying one at the time. So, I bought a skein of yarn, a crochet hook, and hopped on YouTube! The rest is history.

And how did you start designing?
I feel like Iโ€™ve always been interested in designing. One of the reasons why I enjoyed making my own dolls as a child was because I liked fine tuning the little details and making it look exactly how I wanted to. I studied architecture in undergrad and I feel like that really honed my design skills as well.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
I love crocheting, of course! It fascinates me how you can turn just a simple skein of yarn into anything you can imagine! I follow a lot of other crafters on Instagram and I am so intrigued by the diversity of talent that I see on my explore page. Iโ€™d love to try other crafts, like needle punching or ceramics one day.

What was the longest project you worked on?