Ribblr of the Week - Meet Oksana 🏅

Say hello to Oksana (@AmigurumiJoys)- our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind AmigurumiJoys

Tell us a little about yourself
My name is Oksana. I was born and raised in Ukraine. Now I live in Poland. I'm a happy mother of 2 wonderful sons. I'm an economist by education.

When did you start crafting and how? And how did you start designing?
I started my adventure with amigurumi in 2017. The first toy I made was a little crocheted mouse. What I liked most was not the toy, but the process of creation and the delight of my son. It was unforgettable!!!

And I wanted more… After improving my crochet skills with many guides, books and videos in 2019 I decided to start writing patterns for my toys so others can enjoy making them just as much as I do! Making and designing toys is my way of making people happy and bringing joy to the world!

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
Before I discovered the art of amigurumi, I thought I was not a creative person at all. But when I tried crocheting, I wanted to learn other types handcrafts as well. My second favorite craft is embroidery. I have been embroidering for almost 3 years now.

What has been the most memorable project you worked on?
I have designed over 100 amigurumi patterns for the last 5 years. It’s really hard to pick favorites, but I designed this lion baby lovey when I was pregnant, so this design will always have a special place in my heart.

What are you currently working on? Be honest - how many WIP do you have right now?
I'm always have something on my hook :) This year I have a crochet challenge. Since 2024 is the year of the dragon, I decided to create a NEW amigurumi dragon collection. Each month of the year I released a new amigurumi dragon pattern. Only 4 dragons are left:) So they are my WIPs.

Which of your makes/designs are you most proud of?