Ribblr of the Week - Meet Ruilin 🏅

Say hello to Ruilin (@AfterWorkCrochet)- our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind AfterWorkCrochet

Tell us a little about yourself
Hello, everyone! I’m Ruilin, and I’m excited to be featured as Ribblr of the Week!
I’m based in Singapore, where I work as an Operations Manager. Outside of work, I’m all about crochet, which is how my brand, "After Work Crochet," came to be.

When did you start crafting and how?
I started crocheting in July of 2022!

Being a visual learner, I learned how to crochet from YouTube tutorials and this inspired me to start my own YouTube channel last year. My goal is to provide free, clear, and accessible
tutorials for beginners who, like me, thrive on visual guidance.

And how did you start designing?
My first pattern came about because I wanted to create a large, cuddle-sized plushie using a
lighter yarn. I realized that simply selling plush toys had its limits, so I decided to expand my
reach by creating patterns. This allowed me to connect with fellow crocheters and share my
designs with a broader community.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
My favorite craft has to be crochet. I love how straightforward it is—just yarn and a hook, and I can get started on a project. It’s incredibly simple and fuss-free, which makes it so relaxing and therapeutic for me. I also enjoy painting, though. It’s great to switch things up and let my
creativity flow in a different way. Both crafts offer their own unique joys and ways to unwind.

What has been the most memorable project you worked on?
There have been so many memorable projects since I started crocheting two years ago! If I had to pick a favorite, it would definitely be the very first pattern test I worked on. It was such a significant milestone and really sparked my passion for crocheting.

What are you currently working on? Be honest - how many WIP do you have right now?