Ribblr of the Week - Meet Sophie 🏅

Say hello to Sophie (@crochetingmoonfairy) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind [Crocheting Moon Fairy]

Hi! Happy to have you here, tell us a little about yourself.
My name‘s Sophie and I‘m 19. I just started studying to become an elementary school teacher (years 1-4 in maths and German and 1-9 in English). I spend a lot of my time crocheting, knitting, making my own stickers, dyeing yarn and reading. I guess a lot of my hobbies are “grandma” hobbies xD

When did you start crafting and how?
I‘ve always loved crafting. When I was little everyone knew me as the crafter, because I’d craft all day xD I started knitting when I was about 9 and started crocheting sometime after that. My grandma taught me how to knit (thank you grandma! :heart_hands:) and I learnt how to crochet through YouTube.

And how did you start designing?
I started designing, so that I could bring all of the magical creations I had in my head to life. I also wanted to wear clothes that fit my exact needs, so designing was a no brainer for me. There were a lot of things I wanted, that weren’t available, so I just made them myself.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
I’d probably say crocheting! I love all types of crafts (may it be sticker making, knitting or crocheting), but crocheting holds a special place in my heart. It’s kind of a creative outlet for me, so whenever I’m stressed, I tend to crochet. I also really like the artistic freedom it gives me: I can just start crocheting and free-handing, and it’ll turn out really pretty in the end.

What has been the most memorable project you worked on?
The most memorable piece I worked on is probably the Marnie Top. It was my very first pattern design, so it was a really exciting time. It still makes me so happy seeing people making and wearing this design! :face_holding_back_tears:

What are you currently working on? Be honest - how many WIP do you have right now?