Ribblr of the week: meet Stella! šŸ…

Say hello to lovely Stella (@StellasYarnUniverse ) of Stellaā€™s Yarn Universe - our Ribblr of the week!

Stella has been a Ribblr designer since our early beta days, and she is hosting her second interactive craft along this Saturday! For more details please keep reading or click here.

28_2

Hi Stella! Tell us a little about yourself.
My name is Stella and I grew up in Hamburg, Germany. Iā€™ve been living in the UK for almost 10 years now, currently near the beautiful Lincolnshire Wolds. I studied fashion design back in Germany and until recently my main job was creating eco-friendly yoga clothing. Now I spend most of my time making amigurumi tutorials on YouTube and designing amigurumi patterns. Since last summer I have also been teaching crochet online for a lovely charity in London.

So when did you start crafting and how?
I have always been crafty. I learned knitting and crocheting from my aunties when I was about seven. The first things I made were clothes for my dolls. Over the years I dipped my toes into many other crafts but knitting and crocheting remained my favourites.

And how did you start designing?
When I was busy with sewing my yoga clothes I had little time for knitting or crocheting. I missed it terribly and thought the only way to work with yarn every day is if I turn it into a side business. I knew I had to focus on one - either knitting or crochet. Then I discovered Amigurumi and knew it had to be crochet design. I was so excited that I jumped right into designing my first patterns. The first few designs I kept to myself but soon I started my blog and published free crochet patterns. The positive feedback I received encouraged me to design amigurumi patterns for sale as well. This helped me turn my passion into my side business, that I hope to make my full time job soon.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?