Ribblr of the Week: Meet Summer 🏅 (plus special sale!)

Say hey to Summer (@summerbugcrafts) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind Summerbug Crafts!

Hey! Tell us a little about yourself.
Hi, my name is Summer! I’m a full-time social media graphic designer and blogger working towards a marketing degree specializing in website design. In my spare time I like to crochet for my mental health. I live in Toronto, Canada, with my husband and border collie Mia. When I’m not crocheting, I am forever unhappy with my Animal Crossing Island or starting a new farm on Stardew Valley.

When did you start crafting and how?
I’ve been crafting since I was little with my family. We didn’t have a lot of money when I was growing up, so it kept us kids busy. I started painting in 2011. Eventually, in my early 20s, I was in a bad spot in my life and I took up crochet to distract myself. It became something I fell in love with and haven’t looked back since. I’ve officially been crocheting for 8 years.

And how did you start designing?
I started designing because I couldn’t find patterns for the things I wanted to crochet. I decided to start learning, experimenting, and creating my own patterns. It started with things like hats and scarves, and then I discovered amigurumi. I wanted to crochet Pokémon plushies. 8 years ago, video game patterns were few and far between, so I had to design them myself.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
Crochet is my favourite. It’s the only craft that I’ve been able to bring my vision to life and have enjoyed doing despite my frustrations.

What was the longest project you worked on?
I began crocheting my husband a queen-sized blanket for his bed back when we first started dating. We’ve been together for 5 years now. I still haven’t finished weaving the ends in!

And the shortest one? (excluding frogging!)