Ribblr of the Week - Meet Sylvie 🏅

Say hello to Sylvie (@HighLevelBandanas) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind [HighLevelBandanas]

Hi! Happy to have you here, tell us a little about yourself.
My name is Sylvie, & I’m a crafter from Canada! I currently work full time as a pilot, but love to spend most of my free time crocheting. Other than that, I’m very much a house hermit, although I do love to spend time hiking, skiing, or rock-climbing in the Canadian Rockies. I make all my patterns made-to-measure so that everybody can have their perfect size.

When did you start crafting and how?
I’ve been crafting my whole life, but I started fibre arts mostly during the pandemic. (Yes… I’m a pandemic crocheter…) I grew up as an only child, so I was always creating, whether that was by drawing, sewing, writing; the list goes on! When the pandemic hit, though, I really dialed in on crochet and fell in love with it.

And how did you start designing?
I must customize EVERYTHING. So, when I started crochet, it didn’t take long until I was altering patterns to my liking, or just free-handing my own with the little knowledge I had. The next step was just to write them down, and the rest is history!

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
Currently crochet, but I do love the look of knitting and aspire to learn. It’s just nice to always keep my hands busy and end up with something handmade that I can be proud of. Sewing is also up there, but can be very frustrating at times!

What has been the most memorable project you worked on?
It’s not currently finished, but my crochet wedding dress. Enough said! :wink:
That, or the Spicy Christmas Set, because it was really fun to figure out a way to make a bustier made-to-measure & work for different body types.

What are you currently working on? Be honest - how many WIP do you have right now?