Ribblr of the week: Meet Vicky! 🏅

Say hi to Vicky (@Ernilicrochet) the designer behind Ernili.crochet, and our Ribblr of the week!

Hi! Tell us a little about yourself.
My name is Vicky, I’m from the small country Luxembourg and I’m a part time crochet designer and full time student.
My favourite things are plants, butterflies and moths, fashion and of course crochet.

When did you start crafting and how?
As a child I always loved crafting and being creative and I was always encouraged by my mom. She was also the person who taught me how to crochet when I was 7 and even tho I could only crochet very ugly looking scarfs at that time I was immediately hooked.

And how did you start designing?
I started designing during the pandemic when I (like many other people) was looking for a new way to fight boredom. At this time I also noticed the rise in popularity with crochet and I realised how versatile crochet actually is, so I tried making my first crochet bralette top. This turned out to be a massive fail because I had no idea how to make a bralette top and I wasn’t even aware that crochet patterns were a thing, but after a lot of trial and error I finally managed to make a wearable piece of clothing. After this success I felt incredibly proud and motivated and I started creating more and more designs which eventually led to me making an instagram account dedicated to sharing my creations with everyone who might be interested in them.

That’s awesome! So is it safe to say Crochet is your favorite craft type?
My favourite craft type at the moment is definitely crochet but I would love to learn how to machine sew because I always admire people who can sew and I would love to make some designs using fabric instead of yarn.

What was the longest project you worked on?