Ribblr of the Week: Meet Wai! 🏅

Say hello to Wai (@waicrochets) - our Ribblr of the week and the designer behind waicrochets!

Hey! Tell us a little about yourself.
Hi! My name is Wai, I’m 22 and I come from a small country on Borneo Island called Brunei. I’m currently a civil engineering student in university here and I will be graduating next summer. I spend my free time just playing relaxing games, which is where I get most of my inspiration to crochet characters I adore!

When did you start crafting and how?
I started crocheting 8 years ago, when my friends taught me basic stitches in school. From then, I relied on YouTube videos to help me learn more and improve. I only began to take more interest in my hobby earlier this year.

And how did you start designing? :bulb:
I stumbled upon this triceratops tutorial video and suddenly had the urge to make one. It made me love creating plushies out of yarn. I made an Instagram account just to journal my makes, then discovered a whole new community for this! I got more inspired to design something, so I started off with something small like my Shiba Sushi pattern, since Shibas are my favourite dogs.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
I don’t really have a favourite type since I only know how to crochet, so crochet it is!

What was the longest project you worked on?
My BMO plushie took such a considerable amount of time (probably 20+ hours) since it has so many intricate details.

And the shortest one? (excluding frogging!)
The shortest project (about 20 minutes) is the baby froggy by @Jadrian!

What are you currently working on? Be honest - how many WIP do you have right now?
I am currently working on my Shiba plush, but a Christmas themed one! Honestly, I have too many WIPs right now since I can’t always concentrate on one thing. Maybe like 10? Haha oops :sweat_smile:

Which of your designs are you most proud of?