Ribblr of the Week: Say hello to Tash! 🏅

Say hello to Tash @avery_and_co the designer behind Fibres_of_whimsy, and our Ribblr of the week!

Hey Tash! :wave: Tell us a little about yourself.
Hello! My name is Natasha (she/her), but I go by Tash on most online spaces. You can find my crochet works on instagram @fibres_of_whimsy . I am an 18 year old university student born and raised in a small New Zealand town. Currently I am studying towards getting a qualification in creative writing and the literary arts.

When did you start crafting and how?
I believe that everyone in this world is a creative at heart, and we all express that in different ways. For me, I always enjoyed making things with my hands, polymer clay especially was something that offered a great sensory experience and helped me to bring my fantastical ideas to life. I’ve changed mediums a lot as I’ve grown up, but crochet is something that has really connected with me on a personal level.

That’s awesome! And we couldn’t agree more.
Now, how did you start designing?
Creativity has been one of the things I’ve valued my entire life, and I think that when I learnt how to crochet just one year ago it gave me a perfect opportunity to see how I can manipulate fibres into something you wouldn’t have thought of before. It is amazing to test your mind and see what you can do with a ball of yarn, and designing in itself has been somewhat of a therapeutic exercise for me.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
It has to be crochet. What I love is that it is so accessible to do on the go. Last year I would bring my yarn and hooks into class and crochet while listening to lessons or in my study breaks. It was so easy to just throw a ball of yarn in my bag and bring it to school, and you really don’t need too many materials to make something cool!

What was the longest project you worked on?