Ribblr of the week: Say hi to Joanna (aka @joellacrafts) 🏅

Say hello to Joanna (@joellacrafts) the designer behind Joella Crafts, and our Ribblr of the week!

Hi Joanna! :wave: Tell us a little about yourself.
My name is Joanna Cosentino and I’m 21 years old! I’m currently studying to be an English teacher for high school students and I love helping people as much as I can. I have two sisters and an adorable dog. I love spending my free time watching my favorite shows, reading a good book, being creative, and getting some iced coffee :slight_smile:

So, when did you start crafting and how?
I started crocheting in August 2020 but as a kid I used to love to draw clothes. My sister learned how to crochet in February of 2020 and after seeing all of her gorgeous creations, I wanted to start a business. Once I created the Instagram page for the business, I started learning how to crochet and I haven’t stopped since.

And how did you start designing and writing your own patterns?
At first I made crochet plushies but I realized that it wasn’t a true passion of mine. As a kid I used to draw and design clothes and I think that passion is what inspired me to start designing crochet clothing. It was intimidating at first but my third crochet top ended up becoming my first pattern. Since then I always loved to come up with my own colorful and child-like designs—an homage to my inner child.

Is Crochet your favorite craft type?
I would say crochet is definitely my favorite craft. Although I do enjoy drawing and painting, crochet has been the only hobby that has truly stuck and quite honestly taken over my life (in a good way). It really allows me to stay in the present moment and helps me to express my creativity in a tangible way, which I think is amazing.

That’s fantastic! What was the longest project you worked on?