Ribblr of the week: Say hi to Kendall! 🏅

Say hello to Kendall of I’d Knit That, our Ribblr of the week! :star_struck:

Hey Kendall! Tell us a little about yourself.
Hi! My name is Kendall Ross. I am a knitwear designer from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma and the owner of I’d Knit That. I just graduated from Pepperdine University with a degree in American history (I actually wrote my undergraduate thesis on knitting during World War I!). I love knitting and crocheting, and I am an avid TV watcher.

So when did you start crafting journey?
My grandma taught me how to crochet a chain when I was around 6 or 7. I picked up crochet through Youtube a couple years after that. When I was in middle school I really wanted to learn how to knit, and I tried to teach myself through Youtube like I had for crochet. I struggled so hard, and ultimately my mom took me to a class at a local yarn store here in Oklahoma City to take a class. I learned how to cast on and knit from the owner of the shop, and picked up everything else pretty easily. I actually ended up working at the local yarn store she owned when I got to high school, so the whole story is pretty full circle.

That’s such a lovely story! How did you start designing your own patterns?
I honestly never thought of myself as a designer, and I was really nervous to start sharing patterns at first. This may sound bad, but I was worried that selling my patterns would take away from people wanting to buy the knits I was making. I was also worried the patterns wouldn’t make sense to people or that I would be bad at it. The thing that pushed me to do it was that I really wanted to make my designs more accessible to other knitters or people who wanted to learn how to make sustainable clothes but who maybe couldn’t pay me hundreds of dollars to do it for them. I’m really glad I ultimately did decide to share my patterns with the world! I want everyone to be able to make their own clothes if that’s what they want.