Something I'm working on....

Hello!!! I’m new to the Creative Writing space, but I’m currently working on a story for 4H (I take Creative Writing as well as several other projects). Since this work is going to be judged I really need some input. I tried to get my mom to help me, but she doesn’t really have the ‘writerly mind’ :sweat_smile: Anyway, I was hoping some fellow writers would be able to assist me with my dilemma. I would really appreciate any feedback. Both good and bad. Thank you all!!! :blush:

Also, please keep in mind that this story is not fully written yet. I intend on posting it in parts. This story is also a type of Dystopian/sci-fi work. It is my first time writing in this format, so I could really use all the advice I can get. Thank you!

“Who can tell me what year Dr. Phipps’ Population Increase plan was put into action?”
I raise my hand eagerly. Everyone else in my class appears like they are about to doze off. Ms. Davidson’s classes aren’t particularly interesting to them. I however, find the subject of history to be fascinating. Dates, events, people, life, society, what was it all like in the past? Everything was different then. People like me were normal. What would that have been like?
Ms. Davidson glances at my raised hand and looks away, ignoring me. She scans the rest of the classroom. “Come on. You guys know this.” She looks into each students’ eyes expectantly. Except mine.