Venting about key chain patterns

All these designers publishing key chain patterns and nobody tells you how to attach the crochet item to the key chain. Grr! Think there’s YouTube video on how to do this? I can’t find one.

In the same vein…

18 Likes

I am not that good at explaining that (that is why my own octo pattern doesn’t say it) but i found a youtube tutorial and i think it is helpful
Keychain

8 Likes

That link doesn’t workhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iI–mWmF7TU

10 Likes

Well golly, thank you so much @DasChubba !!

9 Likes

ofc!
I Got You GIF by Pudgy Penguins

8 Likes

Nice video. I will remember to add it to my pattern. (someday).

9 Likes

Haven’t checked the video yet so idk if it’s the same or not but for my keychain I usually attach a jump ring going right through the center of the magic ring (usually magic ring on top of the head of amigurumi)

Couldn’t really find a better picture at the moment though

Or when I’m super sure I want something as a keychain/bag charm and I know the general shape (that way I know placement for the keychain part), then I’ll attach a keychain while working, like I would make the magic ring and then put the keychain around the magic ring, then continue with the next round working over the keychain part. It only worked with those flat keychains/clasps though, but it’s very sturdy, unless the whole amigurumi unravels or if the keychain part gets broken it’s like on there very securely

Don’t have any in progress picture but this is how it works look when done:

I can add a picture (if someone reminds me) of the clasps that I used later but at the moment someone is asleep in the room where I got my art supplies so can’t get it, plus I could probably quickly make a magic ring to show example

5 Likes

Thanks Kim! @WolfKvB

4 Likes