What do you like in testers?

Hiya everyone!

I’ve been on a testing spree lately, both on Ribblr and Instagram. I usually give feedback if rows don’t make sense, counts are off, and sometimes, if asked, grammar/English as that’s my major.

I truly adore both being a tester and working with testers (although I admit I’m still rather new to the pattern writing scene).

So, those of you with more experience, what do you like to hear from most testers? Are there any things in particular that annoy or bug you?

13 Likes

Uuu as a tester myself, i would love to hear more on this topic!
I also try to give feedback on round counts (if they are missing i offer to do the math as well), if i dont understand anything i ask and suggest a note to be added in the pattern (unless its an obvious me issue lol!) And not always, but i have also found mini grammar mistakes i point out :slight_smile:
I also make journals, and try to not keep designers waiting on me (and im always active, ghosting is a no-no)

10 Likes

I might or might not refrain from answering this question.

6 Likes

Haha being open is always helpful, I would love to hear :heart:

6 Likes

I’d love to know, too! I love pattern testing, but have been afraid that I come off the wrong way when I write my journals. I’m suspected ASD, so I have a very good attention to detail and have always had a “text-book” like way of explaining things and writing in general - I even text with full grammer and punctuation and have been told it’s “annoying”. I get scared that I’m going to upset someone over stating they have a basic miscalculation or if there isn’t a space between words. It’s actually bad enough that 7/10 times, I make my fiance re-read what I’m about to say so that I sound clear and informed, without sounding “heartless” or “like a robot”. That’s why I use so many exclamation points​:joy:

10 Likes