How did you learn to crochet or knit or any crafts you do / learnt was shown??

I taught myself 50 years ago not that my age matters. I was 6 years old when I taught myself the granny square which was also called the peggy square. I taught myself to knit when I was 10 years old. I also do or its been a white cross stitch, tapestry, Embroidery been a few years but it all counts :blush::blush::heart: i mainly learnt throught books as there wasnā€™t i internet back then.

Some of my work.

15 Likes

Iā€™m a self-taught crocheter. I did learn to crochet a simple snake in rows in elementary school, as well as weaving and some Embroidery in Highschool. Sadly it was one thing and then we were done with it :disappointed:
In 2018 I felt like crocheting on a whim and have been learning with YouTube (Iā€™m a visual learner), Pinterest and magazines from the supermarket , books bought by my mother, which have taught me Dutch crocheting terms (I sometimes mix them :see_no_evil:)
From the internet in general I learnt US and some UK terms, since my mother tongue is German, though I prefer US terms, since I mainly crochet from English patterns.
I have been trying to pick up on spanish crochet, which is hard :disappointed_relieved:.
I also tried knitting, but I simply cannot figure it out :sob:

With DIY so big and my curiosity even bigger Iā€™m trying about everything I can .
Iā€™ve been doing embroidery (a kit), Diamond Painting, watercolors and handsewing, epoxy resin, stone carving, carpenting ( :joy: my job) ,photography, writing poems and patterns, windowcolour , paper towels on pretty boxes, ministeck, beading, pressing flowers, those pearls you iron ( way back)
Recently Iā€™m looking to try and tye dye a shirt or two.