I want to be a designer!

Hi all!

First post here, so bear with me lol. I’m Dani or Luna and I’ve been crocheting for years. My great grandma taught me how to crochet when I was 7 and I’ve loved it since.

That being said, I’m still learning lots and I want to grow more. I want to know how to go about starting to write patterns. Is there like a formula that makes the process smooth, or will this be a brute force trial and error thing to learn how to create great patterns?

It’s nice to meet everyone and thank you in advance for your replies! :blush::sparkling_heart:

17 Likes

I definitely recommend keep practicing with other people’s patterns!! The more patterns you read, the more familiar you get for writing your own. You also get used to all of the lingo, abbreviations, and how to write out steps. :smiling_face:

6 Likes

Thank you! I definitely want to keep practicing with other people’s patterns, but I’m just excited to get to the point where I can create my own too. Do you have a favorite designer here on Ribblr? I need to follow more people!

4 Likes

I’ll make you a list!

2 Likes

That’s so sweet, thank you so much!

2 Likes

This is definitely a good list to start with!!

List of shops

https://ribblr.com/shop/sunshine-studio-/

3 Likes

You can always reach out to me for more!!

1 Like

I appreciate you so much! :blush::sparkling_heart:

1 Like