Ribblr of the Week: catching up with Alix 🏅

This week we are catching up with Alix - who’s been on Ribblr for a couple of years.
Feel free to read our first ROTW with Alix here.

Great to catch up with! For those who haven’t met you yet, can you share a little about you?
Hi! My name is Alix and I have been a knitwear designer for several years. I gravitate towards patterns with color work. I’m a full time therapist where I work on the mental health side of chronic illness.

Where and when did you start designing?
I was living and working in France. I had a lot of free time and the friends I lived with all knitted, so we spent hours knitting every day. I had a sweater I wanted to wear that I couldn’t find a pattern for and made my first self-drafted sweater that became my first pattern.

Last time we spoke you were 100% certain that knitting is your go-to craft. Has it changed?
My heart belongs to knitting but I have recently started cross stitching and I love it so much!

That’s really cool! What was the longest project you worked on recently?
My recent KAL is probably the longest project I’ve worked on in terms of knit time. It’s been really slow going to knit an I-cord that I’ve turned into a scarf, but very meditative and fulfilling!

What project are you currently working on?
I’ve been working really hard to get through my WIPS (finish or frog) but I feel like I haven’t made a dent! I think I have 4 truly active projects on my needles – my I-cord scarf, a cardigan, a second sample of my new vest pattern, and a birthday sweater for my fiancée that I started in… August.

You have such unique designs- do you have a favorite?
This question is too hard for me – all of my makes are special and all of my designs are my babies! It’s like trying to pick a favorite child.

What does your designing process look like?