Ribblr of the week: meet Alix 🏅(and join a giveaway!)

Say hello to Alix (@irunthisknit) - our Ribblr of the week and the designer behind irunthisknit!

Hi Alix! :wave:Tell us a little about yourself.
I am a full-time masters student and part time knitwear designer who also dabbles in activism. My main “thing” is colorwork patterns and helping to fill the niche of Jewish patterns.

When did you start crafting and how?
I started knitting and crocheting when I was 7 (my dear Grandma taught me), but didn’t begin knitting garments until a few years ago. I made my first colorwork piece during the early days of quarantine and the rest is history!

And how did you start designing?
I started designing to fill a gap in patterns that I saw around the winter holidays. One of my first patterns was a Hanukkah sweater :point_down:

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
YES! I am a knitter through and through. I do know how to crochet and see crochet patterns I like all the time, but I am definitely someone who prefers knitting.

What was the longest project you worked on?
I have so many WIPs from 2+ years ago in my WIP drawer… I am a fast knitter in general, so when a project takes a long time it’s usually because I abandoned it.

And how about the shortest one?
I love to knit quick little projects – my favorite rainy day project is a chunky hat or DK weight scrunchie. They only take an hour or two and are so satisfying!

What’s the most recent project you’ve worked on?
My most recent project is my new Hanukkah vest design. Keep an eye on my page for its release!

What is your usual process of designing?
My process is not quite linear, although it always starts with the germ of an idea. Usually I will see a phrase or see a garment in a store and get inspired to create a knit pattern. I’ll start with a sample in my size, then grade the pattern out and send it to testers before it is released.

What or who inspires you to create and design?