Ribblr of the week: Meet Elliyah 🏅

Say hey to Elliyah (@devouthand) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind devout hand!

Hi! Tell us a little about yourself.
Hey there! I’m Elliyah, a 27-year old fulltime crochet pattern designer living in Amsterdam. My background is in graphic design and marketing, and I also have a Masters degree in medieval history.

When did you start crafting and how?
During one of the COVID lockdowns – my job in hospitality was cancelled so I had way too much time on my hands. Luckily I had a few crafty friends with the same problem, so we got together and started a little crochet club.

And how did you start designing?
I’ve never actually used a crochet pattern, so everything I’ve made (so far) has been by my own design. It wasn’t my original intention to start writing patterns, but when my Sausage dog scarf design went viral I couldn’t keep up on orders, so I decided to write one – the rest is history!

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
So far it’s definitely crochet. It’s such a flexible craft, and it really feels like you can create anything you’d like. Learning how to crochet has changed the ways in which I interact with everyday stuff – if I see a piece of clothing I like, or even an object or shape, my first thought is what it’d look like translated to yarn.

What was the longest project you worked on?
My attention span really isn’t that long – probably the pattern for the This House Is Not A Home bag!

And the shortest one? (excluding frogging!)
A teensy tiny coffee cup.

What are you currently working on? Be honest - how many WIP do you have right now? :wink:
It’s not as bad as you think! I’m working on a pattern for a laptop cover, an olive crossbody, some mini keychain designs and a big filet crochet version of my logo.

That sounds great!
Out of all your makes, which one are you most proud of?