Ribblr of the week: meet Melinda (aka rhyFlower Knits) 🏅

Say hello to Melinda (@rhyflowerknits), our Ribblr of the week and the designer behind RhyFlower Knits.

Hey Melinda! Tell us a little about yourself.
I live in my century-old home, located in Edmonton, AB, with my wonderful husband Curt (often seen modeling my designs) and my bouncy boxer puppy Merlin. Besides knitting, I’m an avid baker, am passionate about board games, and actively listen to far too many true crime podcasts than I’d like to admit.

That’s really cool! We’d love to know - what is your favorite type of craft and why?
Knitting is, by far, my favorite craft. It’s so versatile! If I need something easy going, I can work on a basic project. If I need something highly engaging, I can work on some complicated lace stitches. There are few hobbies can be scaled to precisely what you’re looking for, all while still producing something functional at the end of it.

When did you start knitting and how?
I am an anxious creature and am always fidgeting. My grandmother taught me to knit when I was 22 to funnel all that nervous energy into something (and likely keep me calm and still, lol).

That’s wonderful! We’re curious - what was the longest project you worked on?
My longest project would be my scrappy blanket. It’s a low-priority as far as my projects go, so I put a couple of squares in it every few months between my passion projects lol.

And the shortest one? (excluding frogging!)
Mini shawls! I’ve been writing shawl shaping 101 posts on my website, so I’ve been knitting up the cutest little samples to show how the shawl shaping works. I can crank out a shawl in less than an hour when they’re that small.

Which of your designs are you most proud of? Share a picture!