Ribblr of the Week - Meet Sue 🏅

Say hello to Sue (@suettle) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind [Suettle]

Tell us a little about yourself
Hello fellow Ribblrs! My name is Sue and I’m 47. I live in Columbus, Ohio with my wonderful wife, daughter, and cat. I work in healthcare and spend my free time crafting, playing with our cat, traveling, walking in the beautiful local parks, visiting with friends and family, reading, gaming, and gardening.

When did you start crafting and how?
I’ve loved crafting ever since I can remember. I was around 7 years old the first time I saw my Mom crochet. Watching her transform yarn into little pumpkins for a Halloween party was magical! Her mom, my Grammy, taught me the basics of crochet the next time we visited. My other Grandmother taught me knitting basics a year later and I continued learning from library books and craft store leaflets. Though I’ve explored many other media, crochet and knit are my lifelong favorites.

And how did you start designing?
Growing up in the 80s-90s, we didn’t have access to the wealth of patterns and instruction available online today, plus my family moved around frequently due to my Dad’s job, so I’ve been designing from the beginning! I have two younger sisters and my earliest designs were making accessories for our toys. I started with crocheting pink leg warmers for a stuffed giraffe and graduated to ruffled blankets and pillows for dolls, tube dresses for Barbies, and increasingly complex projects. I crocheted and knitted many custom projects for myself and family over the years. Around 2010 I shared a couple of my patterns online. Unfortunately the community on that other platform wasn’t very welcoming and I grew discouraged.